Defying Expectations

Knowing that Fridays are deadlift days and that my confidence with the deadlift has been shaky for the past while, I set myself up with a wee bit of extra motivation in the form of a tank top and a mis-matched pair of socks. Ha! The tank top is one that I picked up from Darkhorse while at a Crossfit competition a couple of weeks ago. On the back of the tank are the words “defy all expectations”. For my socks today, I wore one that said “I know” and one that said “deadlifts”. It’s really “squat” that goes with the “I know” and “diva” that goes with the “deadlifts”, but I think I can mix those up for a while!

Michael gave me the option of doing front squats or doing back squats for singles. Unlike the deadlift, I love my squats, so it wasn’t an easy decision to make! However, I chose the front squat.

1A. front squat

warm-up: 75 x 5, 105 x 3, 135 x 3, 150 x 3 (PRs from here on out!), 160 x 3, 170 x 1, 175 x 1

1B. bench press

warm-up: 45 x 8, 65 x 5, 75 x 3 (reminded here to use my legs!), 85 x 3, 95 x 2,

main event: 5 singles @ 100 pounds

I failed to get the bar up on the fourth single, most likely because I lost my tension during the pause, but I did two more singles to get my five.

2. deadlifts

135 x 5, 165 x 3, 195 x 3…these were all conventional and they all felt good

Then we dropped down to 165 x 3 pulling sumo…something I haven’t done much of lately. The first rep wasn’t very good. I’m fairly certain that I pulled more than I pushed with my legs, but the following reps were better. So, we stuck with sumo for the rest of my sets.

195 x 3, 215 x 3, 215 x 3, 215 x 3, 215 x 3 with my belt for the last set. There was a bit of form break-down in one set…can’t recall if it was the second or third @ 215. I think it was the third. But, all in all, the deadlifts felt good today, even with the change in style. They just might have felt better using sumo. The trick is to remember all the little differences in set-up between conventional and sumo, like starting out with my shoulders more over the bar with sumo. Practice will make better, and I think my confidence about deadlifts feels a bit better, too!

Leave a Reply

