Pump it Up

Caffeine is a funny thing in that it doesn’t always affect me the same way every time I have some. I had a large mug of coffee yesterday afternoon. It may have perked me up a little, at least enough to keep the yawns at bay until after dinner, but I felt otherwise normal. This morning I had one smaller cup of coffee before I left for the gym, like I literally finished drinking it within a couple of minutes of walking out the door. By the time I was halfway to the gym, roughly 10 minutes later, my hands were shaking. I definitely felt perked up, and I couldn’t control the hand shaking if I tried. That is a weird sensation and I’m not really sure how I feel about it; however, the caffeine is a good pre-workout and doesn’t seem to hurt my efforts in the gym. Well, my bladder may not like it too much.

1A) squats

warm-up:

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 115 x 5, 135 x 3, 155 x 3, grab my belt for the rest…175 x 1, 185 x1

main event:

5 sets of 3 @ 175 pounds with belt

These felt pretty good today, I think. There was the occasional slight forward pitch which seems to be more of an issue with my high bar squats. I’m working hard to keep my elbows down and back tight, although the back tightness may not always be all there. It could be my imagination, but it feels like I am having a bit more spring out of the hole which is not the norm for me, especially with high bar. What I really love is that I am getting stronger! It wasn’t that long ago that I was merely doing singles at 175 pounds.

1B) bench press

warm-up:

45 x8, 65 x 5, 75 x 5, 85 x 5

main event:

5 sets of 3 @ 90 pounds

Then for the fun of it we threw in a set of 3 @ 90 with a pause 1 inch off my chest. Well, I wasn’t sure that it would be fun, but I was willing to give it a try. I think I expected it to be very challenging. I think I expected to grind it out. Meh, it wasn’t that hard! It kind of felt easy. Of course, that means I will likely be required to pause at a different point in the future.

2A) chin-ups

What Michael wanted was 4 sets of 8, using the blue band and a wider neutral grip. Ha ha! Maybe if I was fresh…maybe.

What I actually managed was: 8, 6, 4, 3 and then Michael told me to stop. He changed to a green band and told me to do as many reps as possible. Yeah, I got 4. Have I mentioned lately how much I dislike chin-ups?

2B) dips

Using the green band, I did a set of 10 with a wider grip. I did a second set of 10, half of them with the wider grip and the other half with a narrower grip, because the wide grip was doing funky things to my elbow positioning. I only managed 7 reps for the final set. It’s amazing how a slight narrowing of my grip really made my triceps burn.

3A) TRX rows

2 sets of 20

3B) flies with 8 pound dumbbells

2 sets of 20

By this time my upper arms were bulging! Okay, so they probably weren’t truly bulging, but they were definitely feeling pumped up. I’m not sure which is the more disconcerting feeling: the caffeine shakes or the work out pump.

 

Leave a Reply

