Test Day

Today was the day to test the weights a bit to get an idea where I am at and whether my program has been working. We didn’t crazy with the weights. At times I might have liked to have pushed a little bit more, but I deferred to Michael’s wisdom. After all, what’s the point of having a personal trainer/coach if you don’t listen to his wisdom and experience! It isn’t very often that I willingly want to back down, but I also know that I can trust Michael’s judgement. He’s never asked me to do something that I was completely incapable of doing, and somehow he always seems to know when I need to back down, even if I don’t see it or agree.

1. Squats

95 x 3, 115 x 3, 135 x 2, then I put on the belt for 155 x 1, 175 x 1, 185 x 1, and…

200 pounds x 1

The last time I attempted 200 pounds was a little more than a month ago, and it didn’t go well. I’m happy to say that this time was so much better, easier!

Then I tried 210 and failed. I didn’t fail because it was too much weight, but rather because I went too deep and lost the tension in my upper back and shoulders. I’m fairly certain that was much the same as with my failed 200 pound attempt. It is a little disappointing, because I was so certain that I could do it. I totally know I can do it, and I will!

So, we dropped the weight down to 185 for a single rep before deciding that we would stick with 185 for reps. It was a little shaky in spots, but I got 5 reps at a weight that was virtually my max last July in competition. I am happy with that!

2. Bench press

45 x 5, 65 x 3, 85 x 3, 95 x 1, 95 x 1 (Michael had me do another single at 95 pounds, because the first one was a little funky. I kind of almost forgot to pause and sort of did a little double bounce at the bottom. He called out the press command for the second one and it was much better.)

My previous best ever bench press was 105 pounds on December 17. We talked about putting more weight on the bar today, but Michael eventually decided that it would be better to stay put. This is where I would have liked to have pushed the weight more but deferred to his wisdom. Instead he had me stay at 95 pounds for reps. It was definitely more challenging, but I managed to get 5 reps which is a new PR. I can live with that!

3. Deadlifts

135 x 3, put on the belt for 185 x 1, 205 x 1, 225 x 1, 245 x 1

drop the weight to 225 x 1 doing sumo…definitely felt tough off the floor

back up to 255 for conventional and I couldn’t even get it to move

drop back down to 225 for reps…

I manage to grind out 1, yes ONE, aha ha ha rep (said in my best yet still pathetic Count Von Count voice). That last rep felt exceptionally more difficult than the rep at 245. I’m sure I am capable of more, although I might not feel that way quite as confidently as Michael.

All in all, I am happy with how things turned out. I’ll take those two new PRs and conquer that 210 pound squat another day.

Leave a Reply

