A Different Week

Today begins a different kind of week of training…a deload in volume, some change-up on Wednesday, and a little bit of testing on Friday.

1A) squat

warm-ups: 95 x5, 115 x 3, 135 x 3, 155 x 3

main event: 3 sets of 3 @ 165 (beltless)

just for fun at the end: 175 x 1 with belt, 185 x 1 (with belt)

All the squats felt pretty good today, but that final one @ 185 felt like the easiest of the bunch! That just might be the weight we use to test for reps on Friday…looking forward to it.

1B) bench press

warm-ups: 45 x 5, 65 x 3, 75 x 3, 85 x 3

main event: 3 sets of 3 @ 85

These all felt solid today. I don’t think I really misgrooved any rep, and I think bar speed was good, too.

3) deadlifts

warm-ups: 135 x 3, 165 x 1, 185 x 1

main event: 2 singles @ 205

It’s been a while since I’ve deadlifted more than 200 pounds, but this felt easy and good. Definitely not a lot of volume, but I guess that’s okay.

4A) chin ups with a blue band

I haven’t really done chin ups for a while. For the first two sets I had set myself up with a neutral grip but wider than I typically would. It felt a little weird and possibly a little tougher, but I managed 5 reps, then 4 and a half. For the third set, Michael had me change to a closer, underhand grip. I managed 5 reps. My sticking point would be at roughly 90 degrees, but once I got past that I really didn’t have much trouble getting my chin over the bar.

4B) glute ham raises: 15, 15, 14

Now normally I love doing these! Like really love them! Today these were the hardest thing in my entire training session! My calves started to cramp on the very first rep. A short rest kept the cramps at bay, but they still threatened with every rep. My glutes were screaming at me for the last handful of reps in each set, so much so that I could barely get out of the contraption and walk over to the ab wheel. I would rather have done high-rep squats than the GHR today.

4C) ab wheel: 10, 10, 8

The calves and hamstrings weren’t liking the ab wheel too much today, especially as it followed right on the heels of the GHR. (See what I did there?)

Leave a Reply

