Becoming Who We Are

“Our job in this lifetime is not to shape ourselves into some ideal we imagine we ought to be, but to find out who we already are and become it.”

-Steven Pressfield, “The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles”

This reminds me of a line from a Margaret Becker song…”slowly I’m becoming who I am”. I am not the same person I was a year ago, but I am also not really a new person. This me is the person I was always created to be. The only difference is that now I am discovering just who I am, and I am embracing it. Before, I looked at myself through carnival mirrors. What I saw reflected back at me was distorted ugliness. I looked at others, seeing beauty and ideals I was desperate to claim as my own. Is it any wonder I was miserable!

Who am I? I think everyone asks the question. Blessed are those who discover the truth, embrace it and become it! There is peace when we stop striving to fit into a misplaced ideal. There is joy in living each day being comfortable in one’s own skin.

Leave a Reply

