Caffeine Pre-Workout

I had a cup of coffee roughly an hour before this morning’s training session. While this may hardly seem note-worthy, it is not at all a normal occurrence for me. For one thing, up until very recently, I couldn’t even stand the taste of coffee at all. The only things that I did like were Tim Horton’s Iced Capps and Coffee Crisp chocolate bars. Anything else that tasted remotely like coffee was too gross to consume. I really don’t know what happened to change my dislike for coffee, although I am fairly certain that I can point my finger at my trainer and his wife. It might be a bit of a stretch to say it is their fault, but they certainly got me re-thinking my anti-coffee position. They made me a homemade iced capp, and I loved it. I started making my own at home. Eventually I wondered if I might be able to tolerate the taste of an actual cup of coffee now, and I could! Yup, works for me…it is all their fault!

Michael has been telling me for a long time that I should have some coffee before my training sessions. I have previously chosen to ignore that little piece of advice, because I am a woman over the age of 40 who has had three children. Caffeine can be wonderful, but I know how quickly it goes right through my bladder! Call me crazy but I decided that I would try out the pre-training coffee thing this morning. Did it help? Maybe. I don’t know. I think I felt more alert and sharper, at least until the fatigue of exertion and shortage of oxygen hit during the last set of squats. Maybe it helped a little. It didn’t hurt me any. Thankfully there was no skipping to be done!

1A) squats

warm-up: 95 x 5, 115 x 5, 135 x 3, 155 x 1, 175 x 1

main event: 4 sets of 8 @ 150 pounds

I wore my squat shoes and knee sleeves. Getting the sleeves on is becoming easier, but I sure can’t wait to take them off once my session is finished! The knee is feeling better every day though!

I tend to stick my elbows out too much when I squat, so we are working on that. I think I did a better job at keeping them down and my back tight today. It requires a bit more effort, at least mentally, because the more natural route is to have those elbows flared out behind me. The goal is to keep the bar from travelling forward which is a frequent issue of mine. Elbows down. Break the bar across my back. Break at the knees, sit back and keep my torso upright.

1B) bench press

warm-up: 45 x 5, 65 x 5, 75 x 1, 85 x 1, 95 x 1

main event: 5 sets of 5 @ 85 pounds

2A) chest-supported rows

3 sets of 15 using 12kg kettle bells

2B) hanging leg raises

I got 5 on the first set before my hands started to slip, and I even managed to touch my toes to the bar for the first time ever, not once but TWICE! With some chalk, I managed 7 reps on the next set with a couple more bar touches again. The third set saw one touch out of 6 reps.

It’s amazing how a task that once felt impossible to achieve can become something that you have actually done! All it takes is persistence, hard work and good training.

4 thoughts on “Caffeine Pre-Workout

Leave a Reply

