Fantastic Friday Fun

I’m not going to lie…I was a little nervous heading into my training session this afternoon, because I knew I would be doing squats, bench press and deadlifts today. I wasn’t really worried about my ability to get through the session, but I did kind of expect it to be tough. However, I had a great day at work, and my knee sleeves and wrist wraps arrived in the mail this afternoon before I left for my training session. I was a little disappointed to have to peel off the Rock Tape, but I knew my knee would be so very happy to squat with sleeves.

1A) squats

warm-ups: 95 lbs x 5, 115 x 5, 135 x 2, 155 x 1, 175 x 1

main event: 5 sets of 5 @ 155 pounds

Despite being in some pain at work today, my knee felt great with the sleeves on. For the most part, I think my squats were faster, too.

1B) bench press

warm-ups: 45 x 5, 65 x 5

main event: 6 sets of 3 @ 75 pounds (although I kind of lost track and think that I really did 7 sets)

After the first or second set, Michael had me pause the third rep on my chest for 2 seconds. (The first two reps had a 1 second pause.) The sixth set’s third rep pause was slightly longer. The final set’s third rep was probably about 5 seconds, and it was still easy to press. I think I could have easily continued on with more sets here!

2. deadlifts

warm-ups: 115 x 3, 165 x 3

main event: 6 sets of 3 @ 185 pounds

The first, third and fourth sets were conventional deadlifts, while the second, fifth and sixth sets were sumo. I haven’t done sumo deadlifts for a while, but these felt pretty good. The weight wasn’t really very heavy, but the important thing to focus on was speed.

So, all in all, the session was easier than I had anticipated! Will it always be that way? Probably not. But I’ll take it all…the good, the bad, and the ugly, because that it is where I’ll learn and grow.

Oh yes, Michael has also issued me homework! I need to do 100 band pull-aparts a day, because we need to keep my shoulders healthy with all the pressing that I’m doing. Band pull-aparts should be easier than 400 kettle bell swings, right?

Leave a Reply

