Week 1, Day 2

Today was Day 2 of the first week of my new training program. Squats and bench three times a week. Deadlifts once a week. No problem! Or so I thought on Monday. Today wasn’t really super difficult, but the session left me both starving and exhausted. After filling my belly with some carbs and protein, the fatigue hit me with even more ferocity. It isn’t very often that I take an afternoon nap, even though I am up between 3 and 4 o’clock four days of the week. This morning I got to sleep in until 6:00, but I definitely needed a half-hour nap early this afternoon. Ironically, last night I also had the best sleep I’ve had for at least a week! So, either I am just extremely tired today or the squats were that much more physically demanding. With my eye on competing in April and July, I have a strong suspicion that I am going to have to get very protective of my sleep to ensure that I am getting enough of it.

1A) squats

warm-ups: 95 lbs x 5, 115 x 3, 135 x 1, 155 x 1

the main event: 4 sets of 8 @ 70% or 145 pounds

Since my left knee began hurting before Christmas, I have not been wearing my squat shoes. Today was no exception. Instead I wear my Nike Free shoes. The knee did bother me a bit during today’s squats but not as much as last Friday. Last night I ordered a pair of knee sleeves and wrist wraps and spent the extra $20 to have them shipped express, which means they could be here on Friday; however, I am cautiously pessimistic about that.

After my training session this morning, I had an appointment with my chiropractor/torturer extraordinaire. Today was definitely torture! Well, not my appointment per se, because I really do like my chiropractor and that isn’t a statement I have ever said about a chiropractor before. It’s just that the treatment on my knee was pure torture, but he also put the Rock Tape on. My husband rolls his eyes when I come home with more tape on my body, but he simply doesn’t understand how beneficial the stuff actually can be! I can feel a difference with the tape on my knee. And I had no knee pain as I went down the stairs this afternoon! That’s a bonus, because I’ve had pain going down stairs for the past several days.

1B) bench press

warm-ups: 47 lbs x 5, 67 x 5, 77 x 2

the main event: 5 sets of 5 @ 80% which would have been 85 pounds

I was using the heavier bar, so the first set was 87 pounds for 5 reps. Then we dropped the weight down to 82 pounds for the remaining four sets.

Since the focus of my training sessions is mainly on the powerlifting lifts, I don’t need to do a lot of accessory work, and right now that is just fine with me!

2A) TRX rows: 3 sets of 12

2B) ab wheel: 10, 10, and 7

 

4 thoughts on “Week 1, Day 2

  1. Hey! What kind of shoes do you normally wear for squatting?
    Hopefully you’re knee feels better with your new knee brace. I love having wrist wraps!

  2. No Olympics! 😉 I am hoping to do a powerlifting competition in April, and I am already signed up for another powerlifting competition in July. I only train for one hour 3x a week; so yes, I am definitely taking some days off. Normally I’d want to be running 1-3 times a week, but that isn’t high on my priority list right now between the two feet of snow we just got and the competition-focused preparation.

Leave a Reply

