Snowy Squat Day

I really appreciate how walking in the door of my gym can instantly erase my bad mood and a crappy day. Today my mood lifted before I actually made it to the door, because I heard two of my favourite little girls playing in the snow around the corner of the garage and I had to take a peek to say hello. The snow was very deep and my boots are not, but I bounced through the snow to help one with her mittens and to watch them jump off the trampoline into the snow. Then I bounced back through the snow, brushed off the snow all over my pants, and entered the garage in a much lighter mood.

It’s the start of a new program for me, and I’m excited for it. I can say that today, because it is the first day. Michael didn’t seem to think I’d feel quite the same by the end of the week.

1A) squats

Michael let me try his knee sleeves today, because my knee has been such a bother. It was a work-out just to get them on, and I think I came close to taking a face plant the first time I tried to walk with them on; however, my knee felt really good during my squats. The knee was very sore squatting last Friday, and it had been sore all day today. I was amazed to be able to squat without any pain today.

warm-ups: 95 x 5, 135 x 3, 155 x 1

working sets: 6 sets of 3 @ 70% of 205 pounds which worked out to 145 pounds

1B) bench press

warm-ups: 45 x 8, 65 x 8

working sets: 4 sets of 8 @ 70% of 105 pounds which worked out to 75 pounds

For the last three working sets I wore wrist wraps. I’ve never worn them before, but Michael suggested I try them out. I think I liked them, but I really just need to work on not bending my wrists. Still, the more I am benching, the more solid I feel doing it. My form tends to be more erratic with bench, and those deviations , small as they might be, can really make me feel weak! But today I felt like I was more consistent with my form.

2A) chest-supported rows

12kg kettle bells x 15, I thought I could go up to 16kg but had to struggle to complete 10 reps, dropped back to the 12kg bells for 15 reps for the final 2 sets

2B) hanging leg raises: 8, 8, 7, 6

The goal with these is to get my toes to the bar! Ha ha! Michael makes it look easy, even with straight legs. Yeah, I can’t get even keep my legs straight in my pathetic attempt to lift them as close to the bar as I can get them. For one rep in my last set I almost touched the bar with my toes! Like my toes were only an inch away!! I am especially impressed to have come so close during my fourth set. Go me! I’ll touch that bar eventually.

 

Leave a Reply

