Of Mondays, Squats, and a Knee

The problem with having a few extra days off is the way time gets distorted in your head. I only had 5 days off, but they were wonderful and somehow felt much longer. Today was my first day back to work, and it definitely felt like a Monday. In reality, it is my Monday, even though it is actually Friday according to the calendar, but my mind keeps telling me that it actually is Monday. I guess it didn’t help that I knew I’d be doing squats today, which has typically been a Monday thing. I need to re-train my brain, because squats will now be done more than once a week!
After feeling pretty darn good for the past week, my left knee decided that today was a good day to feel pretty darn bad. It was hurting from the time I woke up this morning and all through my work day. It was still a bother by the time I got to the gym. That knee was more of a bother during today’s squats than it ever has been before. While I was still able to complete my squats, they felt tougher than they should have.
1. squats
warm-up: 95 lbs x 5, 115 x 5, 135 x 3, 155 x 3)
5 sets of 3 @ 155
one back down set of 8 @ 135
I need to learn to feel my hip flexors and pull myself down with them, or so I am told. Repeatedly. Michael knows what he is talking about, so I will accept that he is right about this, too, even though I obviously have a difficult time feeling my hip flexors activate. He assures me that I do in fact have some!
2A) Peterson step ups
25 per leg on one block, 30 per leg on two blocks for 2 sets
2B) hanging leg raises (with an L-sit after)
10, 10, 10 (the L-sits basically sucked)
2C) reverse hypers
3 sets of 15 @ 50 lbs
Leave a Reply

