A 5-Second Pause

It was good to get back to the gym this morning. The six-day break was kind of nice, but I was beginning to get a little cranky and restless.

Today was squat day and, like last week, I left my squat shoes in my gym bag and wore my Nike Frees. The left knee felt good today, so hopefully that is an issue that is quickly resolving.

1. squats

Michael commented on my ever-changing hand position. It’s just one of those things where I’m not putting too much thought into the decision and simply place my hands where they feel most natural. I guess that tends to change! For today, my hands were a little wider.

I warmed up with: 95 lbs x 5, 125 x 5, 145 x 3. Then I did 5 sets of 5 at 150 pounds.

2. pause squats

I haven’t done pause squats for a while. Michael told me to drop down to 125 pounds and do 2 sets of 5 with a 5 second pause. A 5 second pause?! Alrighty then…no big deal, I thought, as visions of DOMS danced in my head.

Thank goodness the bar felt light on my back! The last rep of the first set felt incredibly tough. The second set wasn’t very much fun either, but it did feel slightly easier than the first set. Still it is a good thing that I only had to do 2 sets!

3A) glute-ham raises

Is it possible for hamstrings to be sore immediately following squats, because I cannot think of any other reason why my hamstrings felt so tight and sore as soon as I positioned myself in the GHD. I quite enjoy glute-ham raises, and they are easy. I did 15 reps for the first set and only really stopped, even with the sore hamstrings, because it seemed like a good number. For the second and third sets, I put my hands against my temples to make it just a bit tougher, but it really wasn’t very much harder and I managed 15 reps each set without difficulty.

3B) ab wheel

It still isn’t a favourite, but I no longer dislike the ab wheel quite so much as I once did. I did 3 sets of 10.

And now my quads and hamstrings are feeling a little bit shaky. I had thought I might go for a short run tomorrow, but then I discovered that the Resolution Run is not on January 1 this year. Instead it is at 5:00 pm on New Year’s Eve, so I think I’ll skip the run tomorrow. So Wednesday morning I will have my usual training session followed by a 5K run later that afternoon. With the change of date and time, there is also a change in location for the RR, which means we’ll be running on sidewalks and roads instead of trail. I’m not sure how I feel about that yet. One downside to running a trail in winter is the uneven, compacted snow, but the upside to running a snow/ice-covered trail is that I can wear my traction aids without bother. The sidewalks and roads might be slippery but without enough snow to make running with spikes worthwhile. Hmmm.

 

Leave a Reply

