Back-to-Back Sessions

It seems like these last few days have been insanely busy, and there is still one more day of insanity to get through. Today would normally be my Friday, but it is only a Thursday for me this week. Since I work at 5:30 in the morning, I should be starting to wind down and get ready for bed, but I’ve only been home for a half-hour. Besides having several things yet to do, I am still riding a post-training session endorphin high, even though I am also feeling rather wiped out physically. Today’s training session was quite a bit longer than normal. It shouldn’t have been super-taxing, but I usually have a rest day in-between training sessions. Instead I trained back-to-back days because of the holidays, and I felt the exhaustion towards the end of my session.

1A) competition deadlifts

warm-ups of 95 x 3, 135 x 3, 175 x 3

190 pounds for 5 sets of 3

1B) competition bench press

warm-ups of 45 x 5, 65 x 5

85 pounds for 5 sets of 5

2A) deficit deadlifts

155 pounds for 4 sets of 5

2B) close grip bench press

65 x 10, 75 x 8, 75 x 8, 75 x 8

3A) chin ups with red band

The goal on the white board was to do 6-10 reps…just wasn’t going to happen today! I squeaked out 3 reps for the first set, and it only went downhill from there…2, 1, 1.

3B) low cable rows

80 pounds x 12, 80 x 12, 90 x 12, 90 x 12

3C) ab wheel

12 reps, 10, 10, 10

Now I get a few days to recover and rest and eat, although I do plan on going for a little run on Christmas day. That’s just something I like to do. Of course, first I must get through the work day tomorrow, preferably without the urge to go psycho on crazed and annoying people.

Leave a Reply

