Friday Feature

Today’s training session was a good one, even with a left knee that has been giving me some pain almost all week. The knee is only a bother when I must bend it to squat, kneel or go up or down stairs. Every night I’ve hoped that it would be gone by the time I wake up in the morning, but so far I’ve been disappointed. If it is still lingering on Monday and messes with my squats I am not going to be very happy. But it wasn’t too much bother for today’s session.

1a) Block pulls

95 pounds x 7, 135 x 6, 165 x 5, 185 x 5, 205 x 5, 220 x 3 (a PR for reps)

These felt rather good today. Proper positioning is becoming more natural.

1 & 2b) Military press

45 pounds x 5, 55 x 5, 55 x 8, 60 x 5 and 1 push press, then 65 x 5 push press

These definitely felt better today! We narrowed my grip and brought my elbows in more which felt a little strange, yet it seemed to work. I’ve always struggled with the timing of the push press, but the change in grip seemed to help me out there, too.

2a) Deficit deadlifts

135 x 6, 165 x 5, 185 x 5

I could have done another set at 185, but it was my call and I decided to call it quits. I don’t always like to stop, but I can appreciate the wisdom in knowing when to push and when to pull back. I don’t need to conquer the world in one night!

3a) Wrist curls

15 pounds x 17, x 15, x 15

Oh. My. Word. Apparently there is weakness in my wrists. For the record, wrist curls suck. Sure, the first few reps were easy, but by the time I got to the bottom of the rep range (15-20) my wrists were burning stumps. It isn’t very often that I turn down adding more weight, but I was quick to tell Michael that 15 pounds was more than enough when he asked if I wanted to move up to 20 pounds!

b) Leg extensions-one leg at a time

20 pounds x 20, 40 pounds x 20, 50 pounds x 20

The first set was incredibly easy. The additional 20 pounds for the second set wasn’t really much harder. Fifty pounds was more challenging, but it was still quite easy. Not so much weakness in my quads!

c) Swiss ball single leg curls

3 sets of 8 reps per leg

d) Landmine twists? I’m not really sure what the proper name is.

And I’m not sure which bar we were using, so I’m not certain of the total weight. It was whatever the bar was (either 35, 45, or 47 pounds) plus a 10 pound plate. 3 sets: 10, 12, 10

 

Leave a Reply

