One Happy Girl

After a 3 month hiatus, I finally laced up the running shoes once again. When I blogged on Sunday about what was on my agenda for the week, I knew that I wanted to go for a run at some point this week. I just didn’t know when that would be. As I left the gym last night, Michael made a comment about me going for a run the next day. I think it kind of took me by surprise, but I grabbed hold of it and held it tightly against my chest all the way home. I continued to hold onto it while I finished off my kettle bell swings. When my husband finally got home, we quickly caught up on each other’s day and training sessions, and it took a lot of effort on my part to keep my feet on the floor. I was suddenly so excited and alive that I wasn’t sure I would be able to get to sleep on time. I was stoked about finishing the kettle bell challenge, my squats, and the likelihood of going for a run after work the next day.

That excitement has been with me all day long! The work day was excellent, possibly in part because I couldn’t wait to go for that run. There was definitely a bounce in my step, despite the knee pain every time I had to squat or kneel down. Stupid little aches and pains!

Then finally the work day was over. I forced myself to take the time to mail a parcel before scurrying home to change into running clothes. The last time I went for a run I wore shorts and a t-shirt, but the weather is not quite as warm now. I actually had to rummage through a drawer to find my running tights and the wrap to keep my ears warm. Next I had to remember where I had left the earbuds for my iphone, since I really only use them when I run. I had to dig out my running shoes, because they haven’t been worn in 3 months either. Did it ever feel good to put my running shoes on!

As I walked out the door and down the street to my starting position, I couldn’t help but skip a few steps. I was so unbelievably excited! Honestly, words just cannot express how elated I felt. Obviously though, I’m a little rusty with the whole pre-run routine, because I forgot to put on some lip balm (my lips get dry quickly), I forgot to put a Kleenex in my pocket (because at some point my nose will run), and I forgot to grab a piece of gum (because my throat gets dry, too).

This was going to be a short run, 2 kilometres. I just hoped that I’d be able to run as much of that as possible. My chiropractor and trainer have both assured me that my conditioning would be just fine, but I wasn’t so easily convinced. Not completely. So I started running at an easy, comfortable pace, hoping for the best. There were some moments of panic as I felt minor aches and twinges in muscles that haven’t felt such things for a while, but I think they are just a little rusty and will be fine. The aches and twinges didn’t stay in one place long, so I don’t think I need to worry about them.

The first 100 metres or so felt pretty good, but then I suddenly felt the burn in my lungs. It wasn’t too bad, but I was sure that my conditioning was shot to pieces. I kept going, determined to at least make it one kilometre without stopping. The funny thing is, that by the time I reached the first kilometre, my lungs weren’t as close to dying as I had thought they were. Not only that but my legs were feeling rather good, too. I do have to say that my hip began to make its’ presence known just slightly around the 1K mark, but it wasn’t too bad. I don’t think it was any more bothered than it is after several sets of squats, but I suppose time will tell. There was a brief 20 second wait for a traffic light, but I ran the entire 2.2 kilometres! And it felt great! I wanted to keep going, at least a little further, but I decided to be prudent and not overdo it right away.

So, Ben and Michael…you were both right! I guess my conditioning is still okay, although I highly doubt that I could do a longer run right now with the same pace that I could in the summer. It will get there though…eventually. Maybe. I guess that will depend on how much running I am permitted to do once we start focused training for my next powerlifting competition!

One thought on “One Happy Girl”

  1. Congratulations Angela. I love hearing how excited you were to run again. how your life has changed…right??? You have the passion for it, so you’ll get there again. Way to go. You’re such an inspiration. I know you hear that from a lot of people, but really, you’ve made huge changes in your life, your mindset has completely shifted, and it’s really amazing.

Leave a Reply

