Deadlifts & Block Pulls

Today’s training session felt rather easy, and that’s okay. I am nearing the end of my kettle bell challenge. After I finish today’s 400 swings I will only have 3 days or 1200 swings left! It feels like I’ve been swinging that kettle bell forever, yet I’m somehow still a little surprised at how quickly that month has passed. There will not be anymore challenges for me for a while, as I will be focusing on preparing for the next powerlifting competition, and I am totally okay with that! Challenges are good, but I’ve got a powerlifting goal in my head and I want it, like really, REALLY want it! I’m willing to do whatever it takes to achieve that goal, whether it is working hard at the gym or putting myself through chiropractic torture. But that goal is a blog post for another day…today was deadlift day!

Deadlifts felt quite good today. My speed was better, and I think, in general, my positioning was pretty good. I could feel my back round a bit on the last rep for a couple of sets, but Michael said it wasn’t too bad. The bar definitely moved easier today, so I know I was setting myself up better, too.

I warmed up with 135 pounds x 6, 155 x 6, 175 x 5, then I did 4 sets of 5 @ 185 pounds. While that isn’t maximal weight for me, it is more than I’ve used for the past few weeks. A few weeks ago, the slightly lower weights felt somewhat heavy, but that could be due to the fact that I was in the early stages of the kettle bell challenge and feeling much more fatigue as a result.

Block pulls were also easier today. Again, I did a better job getting myself set up in the proper position which made all the difference in the world. Isn’t it amazing how that works! We didn’t push for any PRs today though.

185 pounds x 5, 195 x 5, 200 x 5, 210 x 3

I wrapped things up with 3 sets of glute/ham raises. I did 12 reps for the each of the first two sets and upped the third set to 15 reps just because it was easy and I could. I have to say that I really enjoy doing glute/ham raises, except for those times when my hamstrings are very tight and sore, but generally I love them. I probably could have done 20 each set, and I probably should have increased the difficulty by changing my arm position or holding some weight.

The glute/ham raises were complimented with some ab wheel. This is not as well-loved, but I’m getting better at them.

Leave a Reply

