Shopping Success

I’ve said it before and will say it over and over again…I hate shopping. I view shopping as a necessary evil, although there are rare occasions when the experience is pleasant enough because of varying circumstances, like being with friends or scoring an amazing deal or finding that absolutely perfect thing. Those almost lovely occasions are rare though, and so I undertake my shopping trips with heaping measures of dread and annoyance. I am also good at procrastinating when it comes to shopping, finding excuses to put it off, but usually I just want to get in and out before I go crazy.

It seems like the stores turn into a battle zone as soon as the calendar flips to December, and the insanity only intensifies as Christmas creeps closer. My husband seems to enjoy doing his Christmas shopping at the last-minute, but I certainly do not. Christmas is exactly 2 weeks away. That is almost too close to D-Day for me, yet I was determined to get as much of my shopping done today as I could. I think I was successful. I left the house at 9:40 this morning and returned around 12:30, and I hit Costco, Canadian Tire, and the mall. Almost all of my Christmas shopping is now finished, except for a couple minor additions and the one person for whom I am stumped.

I breezed through Costco and Canadian Tire, probably because I knew exactly what I was looking for and where to find it. The mall was an entirely different beast. I knew a few things that I was specifically looking for, but some things were merely non-specific themes or genres, which meant I had some searching to do. My boys are so difficult to buy for, not because they are overly fussy but because they really don’t need anything and they don’t really get too excited about anything in particular. On the other hand, I could have spent several hundred dollars on myself today…all Star Wars, Doctor Who or Wonder Woman related! I’m sure I left a fair bit of drool at HMV. Sorry about that!

The mall. There are many stores that I never enter in the mall. There are a couple of stores that I could go crazy in, like Chapters or HMV, but I really hate the mall. Even when I don’t know exactly what I am looking for, I am a girl on a mission. That mission is to get in, find what I need, and get out! I do not go to the mall for a social outing (unless I’m with my girlfriends). I do not go to the mall for a leisurely stroll. My annoyance grows as I get stuck behind slow-moving people, and I’m not talking about those with mobility issues! I’m talking about those people who have their eyes on their cell phones and those who have nothing better to do with their day than shuffle through the mall. Then there are the people who cannot walk in a straight line, so that they cut you off right when you are about to pass them. The people who block aisles as they chat with a friend or check their phones or are just clueless to how much space they are taking up. The people who stop without warning directly in front of you. The overly helpful salespeople, who I know are only doing their job, but I really just want to get in and out as quickly as possible and if I needed help I would ask for it. The crazies in the parking lot. And on it goes…

By the time I made my last purchase, my skin was crawling, my nerves were frayed, and I was in desperate need for fresh, cool air on my skin. Even though I think I made very good time this morning, I had reached my shopping limit. I am so glad that we are rather modest when it comes to gift-giving! I’d never survive shopping if my list was bigger or more costly, then again I cannot imagine ever being the sort of person who spends oodles on gifts or spoils everyone rotten. I must say though that it feels good to get that done! The little bit I have left to do will be so easy, except for the one that continues to stump me. It won’t be extravagant, but I want it to be perfect.

Leave a Reply

