Marvelous Monday

Monday has been a good day all around. I had a good, short work day. I made progress on my Earl Grey truffles. I had time to relax in silence. I had my first training session of the week, and it was squat day!

My warm-up sets were 95 pounds x 5, 115 x 5, and 135 x 5. Then I moved on to my 5 sets of 5 within 15 minutes. We started at 145 pounds, which is what the weight I used last week; however, we did up the weight to 150 pounds for the fifth set.

Next I grabbed my belt for a few singles. We stuck to 135 pounds, 155 pounds, and 170 pounds. Michael assured me that he knew I was capable of more. I know it, but I wasn’t bothered to leave pounds untouched. I trust Michael’s knowledge and judgement.

My hip has been annoying me just a little over the past few days, particularly while I am trying to sleep at night. It’s not too bad but…there has been a bit of a throb, just enough to frustrate me. <sigh>

No pause squats today, but I did get to deadlift! So exciting! I did stiff-legged deadlifts for the first time, I think.

95 pounds x 8, then 4 sets of 8 @ 135 pounds

I finished off with 3 sets of ab wheel. This time Michael had me do the ab wheel without having my knees on the floor. While I certainly wasn’t standing, it was definitely more difficult than being on my knees.

Perhaps the most exciting thing about this training session…looks like I’ll get to squat & deadlift on the same days!

Leave a Reply

