Friday’s Feats

Yesterday was…a day. It started out well enough but disintegrated into a grumpfest in the afternoon. Although I know that a training session can always improve my mood, it still took a while to shake out the grouch. It helped that my trainer walked in with a piece of dark chocolate for me, and it was deadlift day.

Instead of starting off with the deadlifts though, I began with block pulls. Michael said that I wouldn’t be allowed to leave until I hit a PR! That would have been okay with me.

95 pounds x 5, 115 x 3, 145 x 3, 175 x 3, 195 x 3, 215 x 3, 235 x 1 (tried for another but couldn’t do it…got out of position), dropped back to 215 for another 3

235 pounds was definitely a PR.

After the block pulls came the deadlifts, but we added two mini bands to the bar. The first set was 165 pounds for 5 reps. The bands added about 56 pounds at the top. This was my first time using bands with a deadlift. It felt a little strange, especially on the descent. We dropped the weight down to 145 pounds for 3 sets of 5, and that seemed a more manageable weight for getting used to the bands. I think my reps were smoother, quicker.

Finally, I had rack pulls!

135 pounds x 5, 185 x 5, 215 x 5, 235 x 6, 255 x 5

The rack pulls felt easy, so easy, definitely easier than the block pulls! I haven’t done rack pulls very often, so I’m sure I hit a PR there, too.

Then I came home, ate dinner, relaxed for a few minutes, and did my 400 kettle bell swings. My calluses were in rough shape from all the pulling, so I had to wear gloves just to be able to hold onto the kettle bell. However, the swings felt easier than usual and certainly easier than I had expected. I still cannot wait for the swing challenge to end though.

Leave a Reply

