Deadlifting Diva

You know, it wasn’t very long ago that I said that squats are my favourite, but I have to say that I really do like deadlifts, too! I wore my ‘deadlift diva’ socks today, and they certainly did their job today! My trainer could hear the scrape of the bar against the socks, which is good because having the bar close enough tends to be a problem.

Today’s session was fairly basic, but there is nothing wrong with that at all. We are working on the details, perfecting form and such. We widened my stance just a bit, working towards sumo but not fully there yet. Then I had to work on getting my hips down a bit, which was super awkward at first but I think I improved as the number of reps ascended. I tend to require a set before I start to get in the groove.

135 pounds x 5, 165 x 5 x 2 sets, 175 x 5 x 3 sets, then we added some chains to the centre of the bar for 2 sets of 5 @ 215 pounds

Next up…block pulls using the same stance.

185 pounds x 5, 195 x 5, 205 x 3, 215 x 2 (should have been 3 but I misgrooved the final rep and couldn’t lift it)

I finished up with 2 sets of 10 ab wheel…I’m not sure what it is called! Ha ha! The ab wheel was attached to my feet. I was in a plank position, and I pulled my knees towards my chest.

That was it, that was all…except for the 400 kettle bell swings that I still need to do tonight. My calluses are crying just thinking about those swings; I might need to wear gloves if I want to make it through all the swings.

Leave a Reply

