I Know Squat

Yesterday was indeed a very long day, even longer than I had anticipated, but it was still a good day. I didn’t do any kettle bell swings yesterday though, because there really just wasn’t enough time. I may need to make Mondays my kettle bell swing rest day, at least for the next couple of weeks.

My training session was excellent. Every training session is mostly enjoyable, but I think Mondays, or squat days, may just be my favourites. Squats felt super easy yesterday, even though we changed things up just a little.

I did a few warm-up sets of squats: 75 lbs x 5, 95 x 5, 115 x 5. After the warm-up, I set the timer for 15 minutes with the goal to complete 5 sets of 5 reps at 135 pounds within that time. It was so easy. I finished in 9 minutes and 48 seconds, but I’m fairly certain I could have finished it even sooner if my trainer hadn’t urged me to take more time between sets. Of course, that weight isn’t really much of a challenge for me, but it wasn’t supposed to be a weight PR. Next week we will add a bit of weight and repeat the process.

Then I did some singles (with belt) @ 145 pounds, 155, 165, and 175. Still easy.

And then time for pause squats. 2 sets of 5 with 3 second pauses @ 125 pounds…still easy.

I finished up my session with reverse lunges and the ab wheel. The first set of 16 reverse lunges was just with the safety bar, about 75 pounds. The next two sets were at 95 pounds.

Good session…and my glutes and quads are feeling it today!

Leave a Reply

