A Fan Girl’s Dream

The internet is abuzz with news of a teaser trailer for the new Star Wars movie. To say that I am excited for this movie would be the understatement of the year! I love Star Wars. I could watch the original movies every day and never get tired of them. I read Star Wars novels. I drool over Star Wars merchandise and occasionally give in to the temptation to indulge myself. Sometimes, I even dream of Star Wars!

As much as I cannot wait for more Star Wars movies, I am also a little apprehensive, because I have preconceived ideas of how the Star Wars universe should look and feel and how the story should play out. Some of those ideas come from the original movies, some from the scads of novels I’ve read, and some are simply the product of my own dreams and imagination. I have read books with story lines that I didn’t agree with or characters I could never warm up to, but it has always been easy to dismiss those when necessary. Dismissing a movie character or story line is much more difficult. What if the new movie goes down a path that I cannot follow? What if they introduce characters that are too annoying to bear? Horror of horrors…what if they kill off a beloved character? I am still angry that Chewie was killed off in a book, so I am desperately hoping that he will live a long life in the new movies.

I probably shouldn’t admit this, but, when I have trouble falling asleep, I mentally create my own continuing Star Wars adventures. My stories usually come from a book plot that I actually enjoyed or from a Star Wars dream I’ve had, and I just run with it. Unfortunately, I typically fall asleep before I can get through setting the first scene, but I just pick up where I left off the next time I have trouble sleeping!

Of course, the release of the movie is still a long, long time off in the future. It could even be in a galaxy far, far away for how long it feels like I must wait! The original trilogy is classic. The prequels were tolerable. Please let these new movies be more than merely tolerable!

Leave a Reply

