A Kettle Bell Butt Kicking

This kettle bell swing challenge is kicking my butt, and I mean that quite literally. I am doing 400 swings a day broken down like this: 10, 15, 25, and 50 and repeat 4 times. The sets of 10, 15, and 25 swings aren’t too difficult, not even on the fourth round; however, the set of 50 swings is absolute torture. It would be so much easier to work my way up to 400 just using 10, 15, 25, and 25, but I’m not too afraid of hard work.

Today was an eye-opener though, because this was the first time I’ve done 400 swings on a day that I worked. The first two days of the challenge, when I worked, I only did 200 swings per day. I moved up to the full 400 the next two days which were days off for me. So I worked my full shift, got a bit of stuff done at home and then went to my training session. Today’s training included deadlifts, block pulls, chin ups, dips, pull downs, triceps extensions and curls. By the time I got back home, the clock was ticking. Since I work early tomorrow, my bedtime is early and I had a lot to get done before going to bed…important things like swings, stretching, eating supper, blogging (it is NaBloPoMo after all!), and winding down for bed.

Part of me didn’t want to do the swings, but I started before I could talk myself out of it. The first 50 swings were okay. The next 50 was tough. The next 50 were okay. The second set of 50 swings was brutally tough. I wasn’t sure that I would be able to do 400 today, but I kept swinging. I figured the first 50 of each round was relatively easy, so I’d just have to grind out those tough 50 swing sets, and I did!

You know what my biggest motivation to keep going was? It was knowing that my trainer hasn’t been doing his swings! Ha ha! He was also supposed to be doing this challenge, but today I discovered that he hasn’t been doing them. I might have smirked a little when he explained to me why he hasn’t done them. (He tells me that he will begin soon.) Have I ever mentioned how competitive I can be? Can Michael do the challenge? I know he can, but the knowledge that he’s slacked off is highly motivating to me!

Leave a Reply

