Squat Day!

Monday is squat day! I think squats just might be my favourite, and today was an exciting day. I didn’t set any new PRs, but I did get to do regular squats for the first time in a long time. I had been using the safety bar (to take it easy on my shoulder) and a box (to limit my depth for the sake of my hip), but today was without a box and with a regular bar.

We kept the weight easy: 95 lbs x 8, 115 x 8, 135 x 8, 145 x 6, and a back-down set of 8 at 125 lbs. Those were followed up with some pause squats, 3 sets of 5 for a 3 seconds pause. The first set was 95 pounds, while the remaining sets were at 115 pounds. It has also been a while since I’ve done pause squats. Michael half-jokingly said that I will be sore tomorrow. I think he might be right.

My training session wrapped up with 3 sets of walking lunges with a sandbag on my back and 3 sets of hanging knee raises using my abs more than my hips.

Leave a Reply

