30 Days Success

Today is the final day of the 30-Day No Flours/No Sugar challenge! I made it through all thirty days successfully and with sanity intact. There were a couple of questionable days near the beginning, but I also had a lot going on emotionally with my hip and the state of limbo I was in leading up to the marathon. However, I soon settled into the new routine of staying away from sugars and flours.

In fact, it was easier than I had expected it to be, but that might be because I have been working to clean up my eating habits for a while. Cleaner eating habits or not, I still was used to eating things containing some form of flour and/or sugar, even if they were “healthier” forms. I do not think that there was ever a point where I absolutely craved something. There were moments (and a moment is really what they were!) when I felt a twinge of sadness that I could not have a piece of dark chocolate or a bit of ketchup with a French fry or a spoonful of gelato. Those moments were blips that flashed into existence and vanished just as quickly.

The past thirty days have been rather good. I feel good, too. I didn’t lose any weight, but I wasn’t looking to lose anyway. I have been asked a few times about what I am going to eat tomorrow. Truth be told, I really don’t know! I have not put any thought into it yet, even though I have been counting down these final days. I suppose that means that this challenge hasn’t been onerous at all. Still, I am looking forward to enjoying a few things once again…in moderation.

Leave a Reply

