Discipline & Challenge

Why is it that I can have almost iron-clad discipline in some areas, while in other areas my resolve is as flimsy as aluminum foil?

Why can I do 1000 push-ups over the course of a month, but I can’t be bothered to wash the dishes every night?

Why can I stick to a running regime in preparation for a race, but I have no real consistent routine when I am not preparing for a race?

Why did I struggle to lose weight and get into better shape for years…until this past year?

Why was I hooked on Diet Coke and Iced Capps? How is that I can be so consistent and determined with the way I eat now? Granted, I didn’t break those bad habits overnight, and I didn’t making sweeping changes to my eating habits all at once either. Still, I’ve been consistent for nearly a year. I am on day 26 in this 30-day no flours/no sugars challenge, and I have been a very good girl.

I’ve had gym memberships. I’ve gone to those gyms, done a few things, and generally wasted my money. I have never been as committed to fitness as I have been since I started training with Progressive Fitness.

I have been blogging for years. Every November I take part in NaBloPoMo (a challenge to blog every day in the month of November), but some years my best efforts fall short.

For every goal that I achieve, there are easily 2, 3, 4 or more goals where I crash and burn.

It would be simplistic to say that I desire some goals more than others and that is the reason why I am more successful in some attempts. There may be truth in that, but I think there surely must be more to it than that.

I love a challenge! Could it be as simple as that? Not likely. Yes, I enjoy a challenge, but I’m also not inclined to partake in just any challenge. As much as I may not be a fan of push-ups, I took on the September push-up challenge because I knew it would be a good one for me to do. The October challenge was to do 1000 burpees, and I had absolutely no interest in attempting that challenge! I may be up for a challenge, but I am not a fool.

Perhaps some goals are more engaging, more desirable. Certainly washing dishes is not a task I enjoy, so it is quite easy to find other things to do after supper than cleaning up the kitchen properly.

My previous attempts to lose weight and get into better physical shape were rather weak. I had the desire, but either I wasn’t truly ready to make the changes or I never really understood what those changes needed to be. Maybe I never believed that I could actually do it.

I’m not sure that I can adequately explain the how’s and why’s of what makes me tick so consistently now, but this is what I do know:

  • I am strong inside and out and getting stronger all the time.
  • I definitely couldn’t do this all by myself.
  • I have supportive family & friends.
  • I believe in myself more than I ever did before.
  • Even when I still feel some doubt, I’m usually willing to do my best to complete the task.
  • Growing confidence has helped me visualize the end results which helps drive me forward.
  • I love routine.
  • I also enjoy a measure of flexibility and spontaneity.
  • It helps immensely to have someone in my corner, who cheers me on, pushes me when I’m ready to quit, and believes I am capable of more than I think possible.
  • I can do just about anything, when I believe it is for a limited time. Quite often, I find that eventually the task just becomes a part of how I live.
  • I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!

 

Leave a Reply

