To Run or Not to Run

The good news is that there is nothing abnormal in the bone, joint or soft tissue of my hip. My chiropractor doesn’t feel that I have an injury; however, he does think that I tend to over-activate my hip rather than properly employing other muscles. He did a much better job of explaining it than I can now effectively relate, but at least this is now something we can work on more specifically with single leg exercises and such. I also need to re-learn how to roll over, which isn’t as easy as one might think!

Of course, my big question was about running. The marathon is in 11 days, and I haven’t run in 2.5 weeks. The answer really isn’t much of an answer at all. Well, I suppose it is, but it certainly isn’t as clear as I would have liked it to be. To run or not to run is ultimately my decision. If I want to give my best effort in the marathon, then the wisest course of action would be to wait for another opportunity. If I choose to run anyway, then I will likely be crying at the finish line and not just tears of joy.

Some decision! I’d almost rather be told “do this” or “don’t do that”, because this is not an easy decision to make. An itsy-bitsy part of me is looking for an excuse to not run the marathon. A big part of me really doesn’t want to seek out another marathon opportunity. I do not want to put myself through more months of training torture just to run a future marathon. However, I am not overly keen on running/walking/hobbling through 5+ hours of pain either. As much as I want to run this marathon and get it over & done with, I’m also not too keen on drawing out the pain and discomfort. The idea of this marathon has been building all year! I’ve been dreading it, anticipating it, visualizing it, dreaming about it. To walk away from it now, after all that hard work and with the marathon so close…sorry but that would just royally suck! I don’t want to give up. I want that finisher’s medal around my neck. I want my hip to get better. Argh!

What to do? I just don’t know. At this moment, I think I will try running a short 2K tomorrow morning. I’ll take it easy and see how it feels.

Leave a Reply

