3 Weeks

By this time 3 weeks from now, the marathon will be over and done. I will likely be in pain but pleased as punch with myself. I will still be wearing my finisher’s medal. Maybe I will be preparing turkey dinner.

Three more weeks of marathon training! Ha ha! In all honesty, I really do not have a clue how much more running I will be able to do before the marathon. It has already been an entire week since my last short-lived run, and I won’t be running before at least Wednesday, possibly longer. I just don’t know. I’m disappointed. I’m frustrated. I’m kind of okay with it. Sort of.

Sometimes you just need to rest and allow things to heal. I feel like I am as ready as I am going to be for the marathon, and I just want to get it done so I can put that baby to bed and get back to powerlifting. And small runs! I am not going to stop running, but I can return to more reasonable distances in the 4-10K range.

Still, it feels like forever since the last time I went for a run. It’s only been a week, but it feels like it has been several. The marathon is so close, and I can feel the excitement building. I look forward to the BMO Marathon weekend experience every year. I look forward to the volunteering that I do. I look forward to the sports’ expo. I look forward to my race, whatever the distance. The atmosphere is electric, and I cannot wait to be there. Of course, the building anticipation is also creating an itch to go run that I cannot scratch. It’s a good thing that I can still do my regular training, or I’d probably go crazy!

Leave a Reply

