The New Routine

Training has looked rather different this week compared to the previous few months. In the words of my trainer, “Finally you actually worked out instead of training like a ‘powerlifter'”. I was ready to go back to powerlifting on Monday, and I’m only half kidding.

This week has seen a lot of shoulder and back work, so much that I’ve been worried that my arms might fall off. So far my arms are firmly attached, which means they are probably going to survive for the long-term. I probably shouldn’t say this here, because I don’t know who is reading and might use this information against me, but I’m going to say it anyway because I’m sure my trainer already knows…I hate push-ups. I hate the ab wheel. I’m really not fond of chin-ups or bent over flies either. Can you guess what I’ve been doing this week?

It has been a tougher week of training than I’ve grown accustomed to, but it has still been fun. I guess. I can’t exactly say that doing push-ups three days this week has been fun, but I can at least appreciate that I am doing these things for good reasons. One big reason is for shoulder health. Another reason is that I am now training for an October marathon.  I can respect all of the reasons for the change in training, but I already miss being a powerlifter. I was super happy to be able to do some deadlifts yesterday, even if the weight was rather on the low side.

Finally after months and months of doing the ab wheel, I learned that I was doing something wrong! Of course, making that one small adjustment made the process that much more difficult, and now my abs are actually sore one day post-ab wheel. I guess that goes to show that there is always something to learn and paying attention to form is highly important!

And oh joy! I get to wake up at 5:00 tomorrow morning, on my day off, to go for a 15 kilometre run. My husband would say that I don’t “have to” do this, and he may be right on a technicality; however, I know that if I don’t make the sacrifice for the run, then I will end up sacrificing the run. But am I ever going to miss sleeping until 7:00 on days off for the next two months!

Leave a Reply

