A Runner Reborn?

I thought I was sore yesterday, but I am in an entirely new world of hurt today. It won’t last forever, I know.

My trainer and I talked a bit today about my marathon training. Most “official” marathon training plans would have me run 5 days a week, but that is so not practical for me. Or realistic! Even in a perfect world it is often a struggle for me to run 3 times a week. I think a big part of my despair over marathon training stems from the volume of running that would be required of me. I enjoy running. I really do, but I am 99.9% certain that I prefer shorter, more reasonable and sane distances, like 5 or 10 kilometres. Who knows? Maybe I could learn to enjoy the occasional half-marathon, but I am really not a marathon runner. Doing a marathon is a one-time deal. I’m going to do it and check it off my bucket list; however, I don’t want the training for the marathon to kill my enjoyment of running.

So what did Michael and I decide?

Sundays will be my long runs. I’ll start with 15K this Sunday and gradually work my way up to roughly 30K. Tuesdays will be a moderate run of 5-10 kilometres. Thursdays will be much shorter, roughly a half-hour, but this will consist of sprints or hills.

I cannot even begin to describe how much lighter I feel after having that discussion with Michael this morning! That running plan is reasonable, practical and realistic for me! The long runs will likely still really suck at times, but I feel more optimistic about surviving these next two months. I am actually eager and excited for tomorrow’s run. It’s been a long time since I last looked forward to a run! The only thing I’m not looking forward to is sacrificing “sleep-in” days, so that I can run early in the morning before the day gets too hot.

Yeah, I feel like a runner again! But I still want to be a powerlifter, too.

Leave a Reply

