Oh My Glutes!

Can I go back to being a powerlifter now? Pretty please?

Based on how sore my body is today, you would think that yesterday was my first time in a gym ever! My shoulders, lats and glutes are incredibly sore. I don’t think I’ve been this sore for quite a while.

Despite the soreness, I did drag myself out for a run this afternoon. I chose to go mid-afternoon, because I just wanted to get it done. I had entertained the idea of running the Greenway, because it follows a creek and is mostly shaded; however, I wasn’t keen on driving across town just to go for a run. Besides, the last time I ran the Greenway, the mosquitos were brutal! As excuses go, mine are kind of lame, I know, but I can live with that.

I had planned on running 6K. I wound up only running 4K, so that I could stick to a mostly shady route. The first kilometre was complete sun, but it didn’t seem too bad. It might have helped that I was singing along with Wilson Philips. Out loud. ‘Holding on for one more day’ seemed like a good mantra to start my run with!

It was definitely hot enough out there, even in the shade, but I was surprised by how easy the run felt after more than two weeks off. In fact, if it hadn’t been so hot, I could have easily managed the full 6 kilometres. I’m glad it felt easy, because I’ve got to run 10 kilometres on Thursday.

But first I have to get through tomorrow’s training session.

 

Leave a Reply

