Stress & Nerves

The powerlifting competition is 6 days away! Aside from that one nightmare last week, I have yet to be assaulted by nerves. Of course, I’ve had other distractions to keep my mind off of the competition.

I have been studying for a Food Safe exam which I will be writing tomorrow. I’m sure I’m stressing over it for nothing, but I’m stressing nonetheless. Most of the material is common sense or stuff I already knew; however, the internal pressure to not fail is persistent. The not knowing quite what to expect of the exam also adds to the stress.

And then there is the mouse. My day was completely ruined last Thursday afternoon, when my daughter said she saw a mouse tail sticking up from the vent on the back of the stove top. I shrieked through fingers clasped over my mouth, when I saw the mouse in the vent.

I hate mice, and I’m not ashamed to admit that I react like a stereo-typical woman when I see one. Since we got a new stove a few months ago, I have found the act of cleaning the stainless top almost therapeutic. An evil little rodent has now ruined that for me. Even when the creature dies in one of our traps or succumbs to the poison laid out, I will still approach my stove with paranoia and trepidation.

One of the worst things about starting work so very early in the morning is that I am the only one awake and about in the house. That’s okay most of the time, but it creeps me out when the cat is performing a stake-out in the kitchen. As much as I want the cat to catch and kill a mouse, I also have previous experience with the cat catching and releasing a mouse. Such a scenario is not how I want to start my day. Thankfully I haven’t had any mouse dreams lately, which is also rather odd since I tend to have those too often for comfort.

The exam stress will be over by noon tomorrow. In a perfect world, the mouse problem would already have been resolved, although this is one issue that cannot be constrained by a timeline. Unfortunately. There is still plenty of time for competition nerves to hit.

 

Leave a Reply

