Managing Macros

I need to add about 70 grams of carbs to my daily diet. On the one hand, I’m looking forward to the extra carbs, but I am also apprehensive. It won’t be too difficult to add those extra carbs to my no carb days, but adding them to my moderate carb days seems a little overwhelming.

Today is a moderate carb day, which means I aim to eat about 120 grams of carbs. Another 70g brings that total up to 190g. That sounds reasonable! It’s still far less carbs than the typical person eats in a day. So why am I sitting at only 140g at 7:17 PM? I’m completely satiated and cannot imagine eating another bite. Looking over my food log for the day, I had carbs throughout the day. How am I going to increase on a moderate carb day? And, of course, I am talking about complex carbs rather than simple carbs.

It should be easier to increase the carbs on my no carb days. Those days are not truly no carbs. I was allowed up to 50g, so the additional carbs would bring my total in line with what I would normally have had on a moderate carb day. I can do that easily enough! Although habits are tough to break sometimes, and I’ve been eating this way since November. Now I need to put a little more thought into what I am eating each day. I had grown rather comfortable with my routine and, while I still managed to enjoy some variety, I had maintained a fairly consistent meal plan to the point that I didn’t have to spend too much time crunching numbers to stay within my limits. Suddenly I feel like I’m starting back at the beginning, trying to figure everything out.

I guess that means I can have some sprouted grain toast with my eggs tomorrow morning!

One thought on “Managing Macros

Leave a Reply

