Said & Done

By the time I was finished work the temperature outside was 28-29 degrees Celsius, which isn’t really terribly hot, but it is certainly hot enough when you are planning on doing physical activity outside. I was not keen on doing a 10 kilometre run this afternoon, but my marathon training kind of demanded it and I said that I would do it. That does not mean that I always do what I say I will, however, I do find guilt and accountability to be powerful motivators. Most of the time!

Despite my reluctance, I changed into shorts and a tank top, put on socks and laced up my runners, put on a hat, filled my water bottle, strapped on my watch, plugged in my ear buds, and stepped out the door. It was hot!

About 3/4 of the second kilometre was along a shaded creek side trail. If I wouldn’t be bored out of my skull, I would so run that little stretch back and forth until I had covered the required distance. Unfortunately, I’m not a big fan of running laps. I would much rather run out and back or do one loop than run laps.

I didn’t run non-stop, but I did not walk as much as during a LSD run. My water bottle is rather annoying in that it seems to be fond of leaking as I run, even though it is perfectly dry on the outside when I am at home, shaking it up to make sure it doesn’t leak. At least the leaking water keeps my lower back nicely wet and cool. :/

My pace was likely a bit slower, because taking less frequent walk breaks likely sapped some of my endurance, especially with the heat. I’m okay with it. I had a better run than I had anticipated. While it was tough in places, I still managed to find some second wind moments. The legs held up just fine, even though my hamstrings have been a little tight and sore.

Leave a Reply

