A Bit of a Rant

The past few days have been full, and the rest of the week promises to be equally busy. Between work, training, running, church, and baseball, there hasn’t been a whole lot of time to catch up on housework, blogging, sleep. I chose to wear my glasses today instead of attempting to put contacts in through eyelids that were much too bleary to open wide. It’s funny how quickly one adjusts to life with contacts. I wore glasses every day for more than 30 years, but now it feels so strange to wear them for one day.

My powerlifting competition is in less than 6 weeks! I’m excited but waiting for the nerves to hit. Training has always be fun, but now it gets even more fun and interesting. Multiple reps are no longer important. It’s all about the one rep! My trainer has some numbers sketched out in terms of weight to lift each day, but I haven’t really looked that closely at them. Yesterday my max squat weight was supposed to be 155 pounds. I did that for two reps, so we decided to do a rep at 165.

My shoulder wasn’t happy with the squats again though which frustrates me more than I want to admit. At least my shoulder doesn’t affect my ability to squat, and it was fine to bench press. I wonder how it will feel during tomorrow’s training session.

I ran my 10K on Sunday. I was supposed to run today, but I changed my mind. The busyness of the past few days have left me feeling a little sleep-deprived. I track my sleep every night. Some days I’m not sure if tracking sleep is a good thing or a bad thing. One thing I do know is that I haven’t been getting enough sleep lately. My wake-up times are fairly set in stone, and my bedtime has been compromised with all the recent evening activities. Unfortunately, the rest of this week is filled with evening activities.

My trainer and I talked about my marathon training plan, and I’ve got some adjustments to make until after the powerlifting competition. I’m completely okay with the adjustments, because I’m really not keen on training for the marathon. I say that with all seriousness, but I know I need to train for the marathon and I will. My training just won’t look like the professional training plans! To be completely honest, my training wouldn’t look like that even if I wasn’t in a powerlifting competition. The adjustments are temporary, only until the end of July, but they are still going to provide a challenge. Instead of doing my long run on Sundays, I’m going to have to do it on Tuesdays…after working a full day. I trust Michael’s knowledge and experience. I will do whatever he tells me to the best of my ability, but doing a long run after work on Tuesdays is really going to suck! But I’ll do it.

I have a feeling that the next six weeks are going to be tough in many ways. When I think about increasing weights and the increase in running days & distance, I realize that sleep is going to become increasingly important. Nutrition. Hydration. Mentally. Emotionally.

The last two days have been stressful, frustrating. I’m irritated by the lack of responsibility and motivation displayed by my offspring lately, which really is the proverbial last straw. I am tired of never moving beyond ‘catching up’ on housework. I am weary of teenagers laying in bed all day only to surface long enough to ask for food. I am angry that one requested task is completely ignored or at best left half-done. The excuse “didn’t get up until noon” only makes me angrier, since I was up at 3:30 that morning to go to work. Yeah, I’m a little cranky today. And yesterday.

So I opted not to run today. I chose to take a rest day, although there is seldom real rest for the weary. Today is my Friday. I am ready to do my shoulder stretches and some foam rolling before hitting a hot bath. Maybe I’ll savour a cup of tea (decaffeinated so I can sleep!) and read a good book.

 

Leave a Reply

