The Chain Gang

Deadlifts with chains! That’s what I did today. My trainer said he wanted to “trick” me, so he threw two rather large chains on the ends of the bar. The lift would be easy off the floor and become heavier the higher I lifted it. I was already at 185 pounds, but I had no idea what I was facing with the addition of the chains. Sometimes not knowing the weight helps!

I chalked up, got into position, and…lifted the bar with a small slip of an expletive! Man, was that heavy! Michael took one of the chains to the scale to see how much it actually weighed. 19 pounds! EACH! My previous best deadlift was just last week at 215 pounds. With the chains today, I lifted virtually 225 pounds! No wonder it felt heavy…but I did it.

 

One thought on “The Chain Gang”

Leave a Reply

