The Grind

Sometimes you’re feeling it, sometimes you’re not!

Today’s run wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t very easy either. It was tough right from the first couple of steps. Usually a run might start off feeling sluggish but will get easier as I go…not this time! There were a few minutes of ease here and there, but those were in short supply. Mostly I spent the entire 7 kilometre run soaking in the music blasting in my ears and the sparse raindrops falling from the sky, while I carried on an internal conversation telling myself to grind it out.

Grinding it out is exactly what I did. It actually wasn’t a bad run. My pace and finish time were within my acceptable limits, and I ran the entire distance. My legs were not too sore before my run. I had a good day at work. My eating is back on track after the weekend indulgences. I had a good sleep last night. There isn’t anything specific to lay the blame for a tough run on, but it was a tough one regardless.

Still, I am proud of myself for enduring and pushing through. When I set out for my run I didn’t have a specific distance planned. I knew I wanted to run at least 4 kilometres, but I was willing to go up to 7 or 8 kilometres. The fact that I did run 7K makes me happy. I could have quit at 4K. I could have really wimped out and cut my run even shorter, but I pushed myself beyond what was easy.

It won’t be too much longer until I need to officially begin marathon training. I’m scared! Running the marathon will be difficult enough, but I have a feeling that training for it is going to be equally challenging. If I had less common sense I would want to skip the training and just stubbornly push myself through the actual race. Of course, that would be a stupid thing to do, and I have no intention of being that stupid! But, marathon training is going to require me to push myself more, to grind out a run when I don’t feel like running. It won’t always be pretty or comfortable. I won’t always feel fast or strong. Some days I am going to feel old, stiff, sore, slow, crazy. I am going to need to be able to pull out my stubborn streak when I feel like quitting.

Leave a Reply

