Self-Observations

I have been noticing some things about me and running.

  1. While running on a sidewalk, I tend to gravitate towards the left, unless someone is approaching me. It takes a great deal of mental effort to stay on a straight path.
  2. Thoughts fly like popping corn inside my head while I run. The really good thoughts vanish into oblivion before I finish my run.
  3. This blog post was a thought from today’s run, but now that I am typing I find my inspiration well to be rather dry.
  4. Various body parts will produce random aches & pains in an attempt to cut a run short. Most of the time those aches & pains will disappear if I can ignore them for 5-10 minutes.
  5. I tend to struggle to find the perfect tension for my shoelaces. Too loose and your foot is constantly slipping in the shoe. Too tight and your foot hurts.
  6. I will tie and re-tie my shoes a few times before leaving the house in an effort to get that perfect tension.
  7. I failed in my attempts today! My left shoe was too tight, and that was one ache that would not disappear if I ignored it long enough.
  8. I much prefer to run first thing in the morning, even though this doesn’t exactly work well with my schedule most days of the week.
  9. As much as I prefer to run first thing in the morning, I am not a morning person.
  10. As much as I prefer to run first thing in the morning, I am usually dragging my feet around the house as I prepare for a run. It’s a battle to get out the door, but I am completely fine once I get out.
  11. Today’s run was a LSD (long, slow distance with 10 minutes running, 1 minute walking intervals). As I was running I realized that I had to remind myself to look at my watch, so that I wouldn’t run longer than 10 minute intervals. It wasn’t too long ago that I was constantly looking at my watch. Now I am used to running up to 8 kilometres without any walking!

 

Leave a Reply

