Thursday Tidbits

  • It felt like spring during my run this morning! Even though I wasn’t wearing heavy layers, I had my sleeves pulled up to my elbows well before the midway point of my 6.2 kilometre run, and it was only about +3 Celsius.
  • As I was running, I thought it smelled like rain…that dusty, earthy spring rain kind of smell. The rain finally came an hour or so later.
  • Normally I would be disappointed to have missed out on running in the rain, but I am glad that I was done before today’s rain arrived. I went out without a hat and I am wearing my glasses today. Raindrops on glasses is not fun!
  • Yesterday I received an email to let me know that my singlet has been shipped out. I can’t say that I am overly excited about wearing a singlet (in public, no less!), but part of me is kind of excited for it to get here.
  • Today I received an email to notify me that my powerlifting belt has been shipped out. Now for that I am excited! Soon I will have everything I need for the competition. I already have my lifting shoes and  socks.
  • My kids are not too thrilled about my singlet. They roll their eyes whenever I mention it. They avert their eyes if I try to show them a picture of one. If I start talking about it, they immediately try to shut me down. Part of me knows exactly how they feel!
  • My son went to our Tim Horton’s last night and came home with a box of honey cruller timbits. Uh oh! This is where I work, and we didn’t carry honey cruller timbits the last time I was at work. This is very bad news, because I love honey cruller timbits! Normally I am not too tempted by the donuts and such that we peddle, but the urge to justify one little timbit here and there will be a fair bit stronger when honey cruller timbits are involved.
  • About a month ago, I had pulled out a pair of jeans that I hadn’t worn in nearly a year, and I could finally fit into them again comfortably. I wore them a few times, but they were an older pair of jeans and they soon had a large rip above a knee. Yes, I know I could still wear them. I probably will still wear them, but I knew I would need to shop for a new pair of jeans. Before the rip happened, I had gone out and tried on a couple of pairs of jeans. I hate fitting rooms, or at least the frustration and anxiety that typically takes place within the confines of those four walls. I was unsuccessful on that visit, so I have been jeans-less. Not quite really. I do have two pairs of jeans a size bigger and, while they are still wearable, they feel a little baggy. Today I sucked up my willpower and tried again. I survived without a curse word uttered and without losing my sanity or self-confidence. I even walked out with a pair of jeans, a shirt, and a new sports bra.
  • I am looking forward to the weekend, and I actually have a proper weekend. Normally I work on Saturday, but not this week!
  • Tomorrow night Kane and I are going to a fundraising dinner. It should be a nice evening, although it stresses me just a tad to not know what I will be eating until I get there. I am so used to planning out everything I eat, mostly in advance. Oh well! At least tomorrow is a moderate carb day.
  • On Saturday Kane and I are leaving the kids at home and enjoying an overnight hotel stay. It’s not really much of a holiday, but it is better than nothing. I don’t know yet what we will do for the rest of the day, but I am sure we’ll enjoy it.
  • The vertigo seems to be gone! That was a quick turn around, but I’m not complaining.
Leave a Reply

