Intervals

I had a dream nightmare about the marathon last night. The marathon, of course, being that event taking place in October that will test every fibre of my being. In my dream, I wasn’t actually running the race. I had a bird’s-eye view of the entire course and was overwhelmed by the sheer size of it. Thankfully, I didn’t wake up screaming or in a cold sweat, but I would much rather dream of running 42.2 kilometres with confidence and strength!

The marathon is still many months away. I won’t need to begin official marathon training until at least June, but I still need to work at gradually increasing my mileage and such. Tomorrow I plan on doing a short interval training program, if I don’t misplace my motivation first thing in the morning. A busy day is in the works with some last-minute cleaning and prepping before my house is invaded by a gaggle of teenagers for my daughter’s 16th birthday. Then, I have more prepping to do before we head to a friend’s house in the evening for a multicultural social. I usually work Saturdays, which means I am normally in bed by 8:00 PM Friday nights. Since I took tomorrow off work, I will almost undoubtedly stay up too late tonight (because I’m a night owl by nature) and will need to win the internal battle in order to get out of bed early enough to go for my run and get my stuff done before party guests begin to arrive. That’s going to be tough!

I can do it though! The interval training program will only take 15 minutes. I can do it!

Leave a Reply

