Stiff, Sore & Slow

It was hard to get out of bed this morning. I stayed up just a little too late, because I am a night owl by nature and I did not have to get up early for work today. Still, I had to hit the snooze button once this morning before forcing myself to get moving.

My hamstrings have been sore since Tuesday, but I awoke to all sorts of new stiff and sore spots: triceps, shoulders, lats, lower back, glutes. The hamstrings are still sore, too. Oh, the joys of starting a new training program!

Despite being tired, stiff and sore, I did manage to get out for a run after breakfast. I was greeted by a foggy landscape, which I think was a first for me when out for a run. The fog was thick enough to block out the mountain a block away, but it wasn’t so thick that it hindered my run in any way. There was a surreal feel to the air though, which made me feel as if I was running in slow-motion on a movie set for a horror film. I am glad to say that I wasn’t running from a crazed killer! It was a different kind of feeling though, like the air was heavy and everything was muted.

I enjoyed the run, but it didn’t seem to energize me as much as a run would normally. I think I just wanted a lazy day, even though I wound up doing a lot of errands. My body aches, yet I can honestly say that the pain isn’t too bad. Really, it is just adapting to new movements and will get better. I’m just whining a little. Tomorrow is the last day of the first week with the new training program, so I expect the soreness to continue through the weekend, but next week should be better!

 

Leave a Reply

