Twas the Night Before Christmas

It has been a couple of years since I last worked on Christmas Eve, so I wasn’t sure what to expect of today. While there were certainly quiet moments at work, we were generally busy right up until it was time to lock the doors at 3 pm. By that time I was exhausted and done with people, noise and bustle. I am thankful that I do not work the next two days!

The husband and kids are currently playing Monopoly, while I am curled up on the sofa with my laptop and a Doctor Who marathon on the television. Once I’ve finished blogging, I will work on my candy cane puzzle for a while.

One thing about working the days leading up to Christmas is that I feel woefully behind on all the usual pre-Christmas preparations. We aren’t having the big dinner until tomorrow evening, so I do have time to catch up. By now I would normally have pie baked, for example, but that will have to wait for morning.

I cheated a little today…on a no carb day. I am also planning on cheating tomorrow (a moderate carb day) and Thursday (another no carb day), but I will be back to my regular routine come Friday. I am sure that Friday’s workout will be tough, however, I am planning on going for a run tomorrow. I started going for a Christmas day run a few years ago. It isn’t any different from running on any other day, but I enjoy the fresh air, the solitude, and the feeling of being active on a day of indulging.

One thought on “Twas the Night Before Christmas”

Leave a Reply

