A Dreary Day

fall

It was snowing when I left for work in the wee hours of the morning. I knew the snow wouldn’t last long, but the rest of the day has been dreary, damp and cold. A lot of people are not too thrilled with this change in weather, even though it is to be expected at this time of year. A few years ago I would have been one of those unhappy people, but my perspective shifted once I began running. While I can’t imagine ever truly enjoying bitterly cold weather, I actually don’t mind being out in the rain or the cold when I am running. In fact, I would much prefer to run in the midst of a downpour or on freshly fallen snow than in the heat of a blistering summer day! Besides, fall is my favourite season.

So, despite feeling tired and sore after a long day at work, I went for a run on this dreary, dismal day. I couldn’t resist taking a photo of one section of sidewalk, because it was covered with leaves which totally made my day. (And they were still crunchy!) The run was fantastic, even with sore legs from last night’s workout. I think I had my fastest pace for the year, averaging a kilometer in 6 minutes, 59 seconds.

Now I can curl up with a blanket and my water bottle…

Leave a Reply

