To NaBloPoMo or Not to NaBloPoMo?

November is National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo), where one attempts to make daily blog posts for the entire month. There are numerous challenges to blog daily throughout the rest of the year, but November is something special.

I have taken part in NaBloPoMo for the past few years with varying degrees of success. Going off the top of my head, I think I have successfully completed the challenge once. That’s not a great track record, I know, and I must admit to a small degree of frustration over my many failures. I had good intentions.

There were nights where I would be lying in bed when I realized that I hadn’t blogged for the day. After a brief mental argument with myself, I would get out of bed, turn on the computer, and type out a blog post before midnight.

There were days where I would carefully type out my blog post only to discover that it had never actually posted. Instead of being publicly posted, it had merely been saved as a draft. Of course, I would only discover the error much too late.

Now here we are with the end of October a mere two days away, and I received an email today reminding me that it is time to enroll for this year’s NaBloPoMo. I had almost forgotten about it. My blogging has been sporadic lately. My schedule is cramped and time is a precious commodity. Do I want to even attempt to write a blog post for 30 consecutive days? Well, yes! A part of me really does! I like challenges. I’ve done it once before, so I can do it again. And even if I fall short of the goal, there can still be value in the journey.

But then I think about the stress of wondering what the heck I am going to write about every day for a month…

How am I going to find the time to write something every day? Do I absolutely want to add one more thing to my list of must-do tasks?

I’ve got two days to decide!

Leave a Reply

